For the 2022 season the board felt it needed to grow the size of the band which was founded in 1995 by Brian Hughes.  To achieve this, it would be necessary to find new conductors and all agreed that expanding the number of Conductors to four would provide the band and the audience with a broader range of musical experience.

The Board’s focus was on recognized musical educators and leaders in the Dubuque area. All would need to have careers dedicated to music, music education and the development of young students and future musicians.   As you can see from the biographies, the board was successful in achieving those objects.

Success of the TSWS’s 2022 season was proof of this approach: our band more than doubled in size, as did our audience.  As we look forward to our 2023 season, an additional concert has been added and the same conductors have agreed to lead us.


David Resnick

Mr. Resnick received a Master of Music Education degree from Northern Illinois University and a permanent professional teaching certificate from the State of Iowa. He studied saxophone in workshops with Dr. Eugene Rousseau, of Indiana College, and conducting in workshops with Dr. Thomas Lee, of UCLA.  He served on the Fine Arts faculty of Clarke University (Dubuque) as director of instrumental music.  He has conducted Wind and Jazz Ensembles in addition to composing published works for bands and orchestras.

Dr. Glenn Pohland

Dr. Pohland is a Professor in the communication and fine arts division of Loras College where he conducts the Wind Ensemble, Jazz Ensemble and chamber groups. He also teaches courses in music education, orchestration, instrumental techniques, music in the movies, and instrumental conducting. Dr. Pohland received his BA in music education from St. Olaf College, Northfield, MN, his M.M.Ed from the University of Minnesota, and his DMA in instrumental music education and conducting from Arizona State University.

 Dr. Nolan Hauta

Dr. Hauta is Director of Concert Bands and Assistant Professor of Music at the University of Dubuque. He previously served as the University of Dubuque’s Director of Jazz and Athletic Bands. Prior to teaching at the university level, Hauta was a band director in Minnesota for several years. He earned a BA in music education at the University of Minnesota–Morris, a MM in music education at the University of Minnesota–Duluth, and a DMA in wind conducting at the University of Iowa. He is an active adjudicator, guest conductor, and trombonist. Hauta lives in Dubuque with his wife and two sons.

Rodney Matthews

Rodney Matthews has been playing trombone for 55 years, including four years playing with the Navy Band, where he was also a drum major and conductor.  He has been a featured soloist with several community bands and college bands.  He was a band director in Iowa public schools fo 25 years, including 19 years in Bellevue, Iowa. He also worked with students at Hempsted High School as a long term sub after retirement. He currently enjoys playing with the New Horizons Band, as well as serving as an assistant conductor. Mr. Matthews has a B.A. in Music Education from Northwestern College, and a Master of Music Education from VanderCook College of Music in Chicago, IL, plus many credits and workshops beyond. He has been married to Denise Matthews for 35 years, with three kids and three grandkids. When he is not involved in music, you can find him on his bike on the Heritage trail on most afternoons, or fishing on the Mississippi.

2023 Tri-State Wind Symphony Musicians


Anna Ashcraft

Jenny Bodensteiner

Hanna Davisdon

Lynette Dietz

Anna Dolan

Hanna Dolan

Christy Garrett

Holli Green

Sharon Grimes *

Janet Kolimas

Nick Mula

Laurie Polley

Tori Richter

Josette V. Robertson

Susan Williams


Delano Cain-Watson

Coda Freiburger


Chris Davisdon

Addilyn Dolan

Stephanie Hyde

Ella Meyer


Richard Beutel *

Aaron Blanchard

Megan Bolduc

Ches Craig

Becky Gillespie *

Lilli Green

Sue Hattel

Lisa Hoyer

Sarah Jacobitz-Kizzier

Micki Marolf *

Adelyn Mottet

Hadley Peat

David Resnick

Amy Schlarman

Jill Scheirer

Ben Shaw

Ella Stahl

Abby Taliaferro

Paula Welter

Larissa Wilming

Bass Clarinet

Sue Becker

Emerson Rowley

June Siebert

Paul Stephany


   – Alto Sax

Kate Arnold

John Bihl

Katie Davis

Emily Davisdon

Addilyn Dolan

Shelly (Rochelle) Edge

Lauren Schmitz

Jessalyn Small

Kim Wagner

    – Tenor Sax

Lee Ann Buchheit

Amelia Hoffman

Emmelia Pit

Bridget Schaufenbuel

Rich Weimer

  – Baritone Sax

Craig Berry

Tyler Marolf

Jonathan Netzel


Jeff Eagan

Gary Flynn

Dan Gilbert

TJ Haislet

Paul Kohl

Bill Mausser

Ed Raber

Melissa Taylor

David Thom

Larry Tscharner

Dan Wild

French Horn

Andi Bihl

Daniel Bihl

Elizabeth Bihl

Jean Cheever

Jordon Davisdon

Mary Flynn

Derek Phillips


Caity Davies

Evan Davies

Nolan Hauta

David Hinman

Sue Hinrichsen *

Rodney Matthews *

Barry Nudd

Ben Pacetes

Glenn Pohland

Nick Talarico

John Tippe


David Alan Arnold

John Hattery

Fred Isaak

Kevin Thomas

David Overby

Bob Shaw


Erik Anderson

Derek Davies

Warren Johnson

Mike Jozefowicz

Jay Kahn

Simon McCoy

Brett Tomkins


Adam Dunn

John Garde *

Scott Krohn

Josh Husemann

Becky Shellabarger

Wayne Siebert

Sally Stulken *

             (*) TSWS Board




[NOTE: the exception is the week of July 4 when it will be moved one day ahead to WEDNESDAY JULY 5.]

Heritage Center, Bennett Street, Dubuque, IA

Historically, accordions have not been part of community bands, however we invited an existing group, “The Accordion Divas,” to join us. They became our warmup band and have been received with great enthusiasm. Accordions and Polkas shout fun. They play for thirty minutes while the band sets up for a concert. In fact, they are starting to have a following. Rumor has it they are looking to grow their group.

Vicki Barclay     Amanda Hauta     Denise Stadel     Colleen Yonda